Raspberry, Lemon and Oatmeal Cookies

I’ve been telling myself all year that I’ll start blogging again. And since my motto is ‘better late than never’, I might as well give it a go. At the very least I managed to fix my rather old camera. So after a very relaxing (and windy) bike ride this morning I decided to fire up my oven, even though it’s like 26°C outside. Makes sense right?

One of my best friends is very allergic to nuts and peanuts, so whenever I bake something for her I have to leave out nuts and chocolate. This does complicate things ever so slightly because I have a tendency to put chocolate into anything. But in the past year I have made new friends who don’t share my love of chocolate, so this recipe should be good for them too.

The basic recipe is pretty much the same as the chocolate chip cookies and raisin and oatmeal cookies. I did fiddle with the ratios and order of ingredients a bit to make it work. I completely fucked up the first batch by not adding enough flour and oats (see picture below). I may have made the mistake of forgetting about the extra moisture content provided by the raspberries….

Ingredients
Should make about 10-15 cookies

– 160g flour
– 70g rolled oats
– 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda (baking powder should work too)
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 115g butter
– 100g light brown sugar
– 75g caster sugar
– 1 egg
– 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
– 75g raspberries
– zest of 1/2 to 1 lemon (depending on taste)

Step 1. Put the butter and sugar in a mixing bowl and beat it till it’s really well mixed. Then add the egg.

Beat it till you’ve put some air into it. Then add the lemon zest and the frozen raspberries. The raspberries will break apart, but that’s fine.
Step 2. Put the flour, rolled oats, bicarb and salt in a small bowl, and give it a good stir.

Slowly beat the flour mixture in with the other ingredients. If the dough is slightly too wet (depending on the oats) you could add an extra tablespoon of flour.
Step 3. If you plan to use all the dough at once you could just put the bowl in the fridge for about half an hour and then make little balls of dough. If you don’t plan to use it all I suggest you make a roll of it and wrap it in plastic foil and then put it in the fridge. That way you can just cut of some slices and place it in the freezer.
Step 4. Place the balls/slices of dough on a piece of baking paper on a baking tray. Make sure they’re not too close together as they spread out quite a bit.
Bake for about 11-14 minutes at 190°C (or 175°C for fan ovens). They’ll still be rather soft in the middle when you take them out of the oven, that’s okay.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

