Leek, Mushroom and Bacon Quiche

Time for a new recipe (at last)! I didn’t exactly stop baking the past few months, but it was usually quite rushed and at times that taking decent pictures is near impossible (I do not like the winter).

Quite a bit has happened since the last time I posted a blog. I am currently working a few days a week at an IT helpdesk (it’s not as much as the IT Crowd as I had hoped). And I’m gonna leave for south-east Asia for 5 months at the beginning of March. So at the moment I’m rather busy with trying to plan everything and find people to sublet my studio apartment to (it’s mainly couples who responded so far….). One of the things I want to do while I’m travelling around Asia is to collect new recipes for my blog, since posting more blogs when I come back is one of my New Year’s resolutions.

In the past few months I’ve become quite good at making quiche. Until a few months ago I had never even made a quiche, so quite pleased with that. This recipe is one of the simplest, but also one of the best I’ve made. The trickiest part is getting the dough well baked, but in my oven I’ve mastered this.

Ingredients

Dough
– 100g butter
– 200g plain flour
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 1 egg
– 1-2 tbsp water

Filling
– 250g bacon lardons
– 400g leek
– 150g mushrooms
– 3 eggs
– 200ml cream
– pinch of black pepper
– 100g grated cheese

Step 1. Cut the butter into little pieces and add the flour and salt. Rub the butter in till you have a fine crumb structure. Then add the egg and mix. Add cold water till you have smooth dough. Make sure you work the dough for at least a few minutes in total. Wrap the dough in cling film and put it in the fridge for about 30 minutes (works best if flatten the dough a bit). Don’t have any pics of this because I used scraps of dough I lying about my freezer from previous quiches.
Step 2. Once the dough has chilled, grease the baking tin. It needs to be about 23cm and loose-tinned bottoms are a real plus. Roll out the dough till you you have a rough circle (that’s always the bestr I can manage) that’s big enough to over the whole of the tin. The best way to roll out dough is flour your working surface quite well and start rolling out from the middle. Always roll out from the middle (this decreases weird shrinkage in the oven) and turn the dough over to the other side once every while.

Then fold the dough once in both directions and place it over the baking tin. Make sure the corner is in the middle of the bottom and then unfold the dough.

Lift the sides of the dough and slowly press the dough into the tin, so that all surfaces of the tin are covered. You can use a bit of leftover dough to press it into the corners. Cut off the dough that’s sticking out with a knife and place back into the fridge.

Step 3. Cut the leek into rings while frying the bacon. Fry it for a couple of minutes and take it out of the pan. Then put the leek in the pan (made sure the rings separate, otherwise it will taste like shit). In the meantime put the eggs and cream into a bowl and mix. Add the bacon and grated cheese. Cut the mushrooms into slices and add them, as well as the leek once it has become soft. Pour the filling into the tin.

Step 4. Bake for about 45-60 minutes at 190°C (175°C for fan ovens. When it’s done all the filling should looked puffed.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

